Welcome to the Lascivious Zone

B is for Brain

sapiosexualTo me there is nothing sexier than a smart, articulate, witty man.  Sure, I find certain physical attributes attractive: beefy forearms: great smile, thick thighs and broad shoulders; however, no matter how attractive I find a man physically, if he can’t carry on a conversation, it doesn’t work for me. The term for this is sapiosexual–someone who is aroused by intelligence.

I’ve often wondered what determines a person’s level of intelligence. Degrees don’t work. Some of the stupidest people I’ve met have doctorates. Some of the smartest people I’ve met are uneducated rednecks. So, I think the beauty of the brain is in the eye of the beholder. An intellectual connection is just as individualized as a physical connection. What sparks flames in my brain, might not spark flames in the brains of my friends. Although, I can assure you my friends and I are more likely to sit around an marvel at a man’s brain than we are his looks.

It’s hard for me to figure out what I find attractive about a man’s brain. Philosophy on life? Sense of humor? Well read? Mechanically inclined? It’s easy for me to point out the physical traits I find desirable, but the mind is a tricky thing. Dr. Sheldon Cooper from The Big Bang Theory is brilliant, but I don’t think I’d ever drool over the guy.  DSI John Luther from the BBC series Luther, now that’s my kind of intelligent. Why? I have no idea. Just like I can’t tell you why I find cowboys more attractive than men in Armani suits or why I find Latinos more attractive than wholesome, blond Mormons. All I know is that if the man connects with me intellectually, it doesn’t matter if he’s a blond Mormon in an Armani suit, I’m aroused.

The brain really is the biggest sex organ.

 

 

 

Comments on: "B is for Brain" (2)

  1. It works this way for women, too. A voluptuous brain is tough to resist. The other stuff? That’s just what she’s wrapped in. In fact, the other stuff becomes more desirable when she has that brain.

    And you’re right … it’s tough to quantify, but I know it when I see it.

    • You’re right, Eli. There’s a chick flick called The Truth About Cats and Dogs that addresses this very topic. It’s amazing how people become more beautiful as you get to know them–or less so. It’s all about the intellectual connection.

Leave a Reply

